Tim Pascoe of Environment and Climate Change Canada Receives the Kallemeyn Award for Scientific Achievement

(International Falls, MN) March 11, 2020

kallemeyn pascoeTim Pascoe of ECCC (3rd from left) received the Kallemeyn Award for scientific achievement accompanied by former award recipients (at left) Ryan Maki, Voyageurs National Park and Mark Edlund, Science Museum of Minnesota and (from right) Kevin Peterson, Minnesota DNR and Jesse Anderson, Minnesota Pollution Control Agency. Todd Sellers (3rd from right) presented the award on behalf of the Foundation..Tim Pascoe, Environmental Scientist with Environment and Climate Change Canada (ECCC) is the 2020 recipient of the Kallemeyn Award, recognizing his outstanding professional achievements and contributions to collaborative research and resource management in the Rainy-Lake of the Woods Basin.

The Kallemeyn Award was presented to Tim by the Lake of the Woods Water Sustainability Foundation on behalf of the community of scientists and resource managers from the United States and Canada attending the 2020 International Rainy-Lake of the Woods Watershed Forum in International Falls, MN.

Tim is described by his international colleagues as their first contact – the “go to guy” – who other agencies and scientists turn to when they need data from ECCC, advice or assistance with collecting water or sediment samples and who is always helpful in connecting partners with ECCC scientists. 

Tim has led the Lake of the Woods and Rainy River monitoring program for ECCC for more than a decade. This has included the collection of water quality and biomonitoring data that have formed the basis of technical reports, scientific studies, and national and international collaborations.  The Kallemeyn Award selection committee noted that Tim works tirelessly behind the scenes to ensure that ECCC collects high quality data, and that these data are made available to answer important research and management questions in the basin.  Since 2008, ECCC data, collected by the monitoring team led by Tim, have been considered in nearly every major initiative, including published papers, the 2014 Rainy-Lake of the Woods State of the Basin Report, International Joint Commission reports, and Minnesota's Lake of the Woods Total Maximum Daily Load study.

The Kallemeyn Award, named after Larry Kallemeyn, U.S. Geological Survey (retired) is presented annually by the Foundation to an individual who has demonstrated in the Rainy-Lake of the Woods watershed:

  • Outstanding professional achievement in scientific research or resource management.
  • Significant contributions to collaborative and cooperative approaches to research or resource management internationally.

The selection committee consists of researchers and resource managers from both the United States and Canada. It was their unanimous recommendation to the Foundation that Tim Pascoe’s contributions epitomize the values represented by the award.

With the Kallemeyn Award, the Foundation and the international research community at the Forum thank Tim for his years of dedication, outstanding research, and efforts to foster collaborative and cooperative approaches that truly carry forward the Kallemeyn "legacy" and which have contributed immensely to advancing science and management in the basin.  Thank you from us all, Tim!

For more information on the Kallemeyn Award: www.lowwsf.com/kallemeyn-award or contact:

Todd Sellers,
Executive Director,
Lake of the Woods Water Sustainability Foundation
204-981-4283 (cell)

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.