The 2020 Wilson Stewardship Award will be presented on the evening of March 11, 2020 at the Foundation Reception during the International Rainy-Lake of the Woods Watershed Forum, in International Falls, Minnesota.

The Wilson Stewardship Award is presented annually by the Foundation to individuals, groups, or projects that have made significant contributions to environmental stewardship in the Rainy-Lake of the Woods watershed through:

  • Education, outreach, civic engagement and participation in stewardship initiatives or program development.
  • Projects or programs focused on protection, restoration, preservation or reduction of environmental impact and development of sustainable practices.

This award is named in honour of its first recipient, Gerry Wilson, in recognition of her contributions to lake stewardship including development of volunteer monitoring programs, civic engagement and education and cooperative approaches between the public, universities and government agencies.

The selection committee for the Wilson Award consists of water stewardship community leaders from both Canada and the United States. At the recommendation of the selection committee, the Foundation presents the Wilson Award annually at the International Rainy-Lake of the Woods Watershed Forum.

Previous Wilson Award recipients:

  • 2019 – Two awards: Vermilion Lake Associaton & Lake of the Woods District Stewardship Association
  • 2019 – Lake of the Woods District Stewardship Association and The Vermilion Lake Association
  • 2018 – White Iron Chain of Lakes Association (WICOLA)
  • 2017 – Not awarded
  • 2016 – Todd Sellers, LOWWSF
  • 2015 – Dale & Phyllis Callaghan, Rainy Lake Conservancy
  • 2014 – Dyke Williams, MN and Lake of the Woods Canada
  • 2013 – Kelli Saunders, LOWWSF / K. Saunders Environmental Management
  • 2012 – Gerry Wilson, Lake of the Woods District Property Owners Association